10 County / National Crisis Contacts

COVID-19 has had a significant impact on the mental health and wellness of our youth.  Our young people have had to deal with a variety of very difficult circumstances including fear, anxiety, depression, isolation and not being able to interact with their peers.  See below to view a list of organizations in our 10 county service area which provide live mental health support in cooperation with Pokagon Health Services.  Services are also available to Pokagon Citizens living outside of the 10 county service area.  

The list of organizations in each of our 10 country service areas that provides live mental health/substance use crisis access 24-hours/day. Our PHS Behavioral Health Department works with each of these organizations, so if a tribal citizen were to call one of these numbers after hours, the organization would provide the immediate crisis care and then work with our behavioral health department for long term care coordination.


Also provided is national contact information for organizations that serve individuals who fall into certain categories (ie, veterans, LGBTQ+, Domestic Violence, etc).


These national numbers anyone, including those living in and out of the 10 county service area, can call if they need immediate, live help 24-hours/day.


Click Here if you live in Michigan

Click Here if you live in Indiana

If you live outside of the Ten County Service area and require assistance Click Here




Allegan County

Allegan County Mental Health Department

277 North Street

Allegan, MI 49010

(269) 673-5092

(269) 686-5216 – 24-hours


Berrien County

Berrien County Mental Health Authority Medical Center

1485 M139

Benton Harbor, MI 49022

(269) 925-0585

(269) 927-6063 – 24 hours


Cass County

Cass County Community Mental Health

960 E State St.

Cassopolis, MI 49031

(269) 445-2451

(269)-445-2451 – 24 Hours

Van Buren County

Van Buren County Mental Health Department

801 Hazen Street

Paw Paw, MI 49079

(269) 657-5574

1-800-922-1418 – 24 Hours




Elkhart County


2600 Oakland Ave.

Elkhart, IN 46517

(574) 533-1234 – 24 Hours


Kosciusko County

Bowen Center

850 Harrison St.

Warsaw, IN 46580

(574) 267-7169

1-800-342-5653 – 24 Hours


Laporte County

Swanson Center

1230 State Road 2 West

LaPorte, IN 46350

(219) 362-2145

1-855-325-6934 – 24 Hours


Marshall County

Bowen Center for Human Services

850 N Harrison St.

Warsaw, IN  46581

(574) 267-7169

1-800-342-5653 – 24 Hours


St. Joseph County

Oaklawn Psychiatric Center

415 East Madison Street

South Bend, IN 46617

(574) 283-1234 – 24 Hours


Starke County

Porter-Starke Services Inc.

1001 S. Edgewood Dr. Suite 1

Knox, IN  46534

(574) 772-4040

(219) 531-3600 – 24 Hours


National Crisis Hotlines


Native American National Suicide Prevention Lifeline – 1-800-273-TALK or 2-1-1


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline – 1-800-273-8255


Veterans Crisis Line – 1-800-273-8255 – Press 1


National Runaway Safeline – 1-800-RUNAWAY or TEXT 66008


LGBTQ+ - 1-800-273-8255


National Domestic Violence Hotline – 1-800-799- SAFE


National Sexual Assault Hotline – 1-800-656-4673


National Human Trafficking Hotline – 1-888-373-7888 or TEXT 233733


National Child Abuse Hotline – 1-800-422-4453


National Substance Abuse Hotline – 1-800-662-4357



If you or a loved one is experiencing a life-altering mental health or substance abuse emergency, please go to your local emergency hospital/center.