Tribal Courts

 

Navigation: 

 

Our Mission

The mission of the Tribal Judiciary is to provide fully functioning judicial forums for all matters heard by the courts of the Tribe built upon Tribal laws, values, culture and traditions which provide fairness and due process in resolving conflicts and disputes within its jurisdiction. In accomplishing the mission, the courts of the Tribe shall exercise judicial authority consistent with the sovereign powers of the Pokagon Band and to provide for operation as a branch of government consistent with the principles of separation of powers.

Back to the Your Government page ->

 

You can break the cycle

Congress passed the Indian Child Welfare Act in 1978, in an attempt to preserve Indian tribes' most vital resource: its children. It has been said over the years that one of the greatest failings which prevents the Act from realizing its potential is the lack of tribal homes in which children who need protection can be placed. We realize that the lack of tribal homes must be addressed by active and on-going recruitment. It takes not one person to raise a child, but a community.  When one child is removed it effects the community, as a whole. Please watch this video to see the impact that removal can do to not only a family, but a people. Then ask yourself, “What can I do to break the cycle?”

Tribal Courts

58620 Sink Rd., P.O. Box 355, Dowagiac, MI 49047
Ph: (269)783-0505   Fax: (269)783-0519

Regular Business Hours
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday, except tribal holidays (listed below)

Saturday, January 1, 2022

New Years Day

Monday, January 17, 2022

Martin Luther King Day

Friday, April 15, 2022

Good Friday

Monday, May 30, 2022

Memorial Day

Monday, June 20, 2022

Juneteenth

Monday, July 4, 2022

Independence Day

Monday, September 5, 2022

Labor Day

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

Sovereignty Day

Monday, October 10, 2022

Indigenous People's Day

Friday, November 11, 2022

Veteran's Day

Thursday, November 24, 2022

Thanksgiving

Friday, November 25, 2022

Day After Thanksgiving

Friday, December 23, 2022

Christmas Eve

Monday, December 26, 2022

Christmas Day

Monday, December 30, 2022

New Years Eve

Monday, January 2, 2023

New Years Day

 

Because of demands of hearings, meetings, training needs, and other scheduled conflicts, please call ahead to make sure Court staff is available to meet your needs.

Schedule of Court Fees (revised 8/14/14)

Requirements for Practicing Before Tribal Court: The Tribal Court allow attorneys, who are admitted to practice in any state and who are in good standing, to practice before the Tribal Court. Each applicant for admission must complete an Application for Admission to Practice (Revised 05-26-2022)Oath of Admission and must be duly admitted to practice. Admission to practice before the Tribal Court is deemed admission to practice before the Appellate Court.